This site uses cookies...
Cookies are small text files that help us make your web experience better. By using any part of the site you consent to the use of cookies. More information about our cookies policy can be found on the Terms of Use.

Missionaries of San Colomban awarded in Peru

The Congregation of the Missionary Sisters of St. Columban was among the recipients of the Medal of Santo Toribio de Mogrovejo, awarded by the Peruvian Episcopal Conference (CEP) for their contribution to the local church. Presenting the award were Archbishop Salvador Piñeiro, Archbishop of Ayacucho and president of the CEP, and Monsignor Lino Maria Panizza Richero, bishop of Carabayllo and Secretary General of the CEP. The Missionaries of St. Columban, having arrived in Peru fifty years ago, live among the most poor on the outskirts of Lima, in the desert region of Ica (south of the capital) and recently in the centre of the country, near Ayacucho, in an area where mainly Quechua is spoken. Devoted to education, medical and social activities, they promote initiatives for young people, families and older people in the parishes, and are involved in the promotion of women's rights. The congregation, which now has 183 religious in 41 religious houses scattered throughout Asia, America, UK and Ireland, it was founded on February 1, 1922 in Ennis (Ireland) by John Blowick of the Society of St. Columban. The first mission was founded in China four years later.




St. Peter’s Square

Oct. 20, 2019