This site uses cookies...
Cookies are small text files that help us make your web experience better. By using any part of the site you consent to the use of cookies. More information about our cookies policy can be found on the Terms of Use.

At the Angelus the Pope announces
the creation of 19 cardinals

· From 12 countries from all over the world. Among them three Archbishops emeritus ·

Nineteen new cardinals, including three Archbishops emeritus who are distinguished by their service to the Holy See and the Church, will be created by the Pope during the Consistory on 22 February. Pope Francis announced their names at the Angelus on 12 January in St Peter's Square:

As previously announced, on 22 February, the Feast of the Chair of St Peter, I will have the joy of holding a Consistory, during which I shall name 16 new Cardinals, who — belonging to 12 nations from every part of the world — represent the profound ecclesial relationship between the Church of Rome and the other Churches spread throughout the world.

The following day I shall preside at a solemn concelebration with the new Cardinals, while on 20 and 21 February I will hold a Consistory with all of the cardinals in order to reflect on the topic of the family.

The following are the names of the new Cardinals:

1. Archbishop Pietro Parolin, titular Archbishop of Acquapendente, Secretary of State.

2. Archbishop Lorenzo Baldisseri, titular Archbishop of Diocletiana, Secretary General of the Synod of Bishops.

3. Archbishop Gerhard Ludwig Müller, Bishop emeritus of Regensburg, Prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith.

4. Archbishop Beniamino Stella, titular of Midila, Prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy.

5. Archbishop Vincent Gerard Nichols of Westminster, Great Britain.

6. Archbishop Leopoldo José Brenes Solórzano of Managua, Nicaragua.

7. Archbishop Gérald Cyprien Lacroix of Québec, Canada.

8. Archbishop Jean-Pierre Kutwa of Abidjan, the Ivory Coast.

9. Archbishop Orani João Tempesta, O.Cist., of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

10. Archbishop Gualtiero Bassetti of Perugia-Città della Pieve, Italy.

11. Archbishop Mario Aurelio Poli of Buenos Aires, Argentina.

12. Archbishop Andrew Yeom Soo jung of Seoul, Korea.

13. Archbishop Ricardo Ezzati Andrello, SDB, of Santiago del Cile, Chile.

14. Archbishop Philippe Nakellentuba Ouédraogo of Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso.

15. Archbishop Orlando B. Quevedo, OMI, of Cotabato, the Philippines.

16.Bishop Chibly Langlois of Les Cayes, Haiti.

Together with them, these members of the College of Cardinals will be joined by three Archbishops emeritus who are distinguished by their service to the Holy See and the Church:

Archbishop Loris Francesco Capovilla, titular Archbishop of Mesembria;

Archbishop emeritus Fernando Sebastian Aguillar of Pamplona;

Archbishop emeritus Kelvin Edward Felix of Castries, the Antilles.

Let us pray for these new Cardinals so that, clothed in virtue and the sentiments of the Lord Jesus, the Good Shepherd, they may aid the Bishop of Rome more effectively in serving the universal Church.




St. Peter’s Square

Jan. 21, 2020